how to get most from Adsense?
pageviews are important
increase user engagement, decrease bounce rate,
WebMD sites uses pagination for posts , next page instead of whole story in a single page.
related posts widget.
CTR for link units: double click required, but google counts 2nd click as ctr. Ex 4% ctr then it’s actually 8%CTR.
cost for getting 1000visits to pageviews
2000
ad ctr would be 2%.
page ctr 10%
cpc 0.04$(as low in 2020 india)
200 *0.04=$8
AD unit CTR: example above folds performs well rather than below fold ads, ctr & cpc high for af ads.
total Adsense ctr calculated by taking account if all individual adunits on a page.
Adsense ctr : impressions/clicks
pageviews vs impression
page views 314, cpc 0.6$ CTR 4.18% page ctr 15.92%
clicks 50
earnings $2.96
impressions 1199
1199/50=23.98%
CTR= impressions /clicks
PageCTR= pageviews/clicks
CPC = Cost per click
2nd set of terms
Page RPM: Revenue per 1000 impressions including clicks (earnings/impressions).
page ctr 314/50 = 6.28%
Page CTR
The page clickthrough rate (CTR) is the number of ad clicks divided by the number of page views.
Page CTR = Clicks / Page views
For example, if you received 2 clicks for 250 page views, your page CTR would be .8%. (2/250=.8%)
1 click in 100 pageviews then PAGE CTR will be 10%.
average CTR by industry
(Impression CTR) CTR = Clicks / Impressions
Ad CTR = Clicks / Ad impressions
For example, if your ad received 5 clicks out of 1000 ad impressions, your ad CTR would be .5%.
Ad request CTR = Clicks / Ad requests
For example, if you received 7 clicks out of 1000 ad requests, your ad request CTR would be .7%. (7 / 1000 = 0.7%)
CPC Bids & CPM Bids
Page RPM.
Page revenue per thousand impressions (RPM) is calculated by dividing your estimated earnings by the number of page views you received, then multiplying by 1000. For example, if you earned an estimated $0.15 from 25 page views, then your page RPM would equal ($0.15 / 25) * 1000, or $6.00
Lets understand CPC by advertiser perspective
bid for $0.03 for a click so you get 0.03$
minimum bid 0.1$(maybe), if none other advetisers available. then adspace / click sold for this.
demand increases bid amount increases as well as cpc increases.
The Google keyboard planner indicates cpc for search ads,
display planner for website s you get clear idea.
mobile app per download also included a cpc in playstore.
CPC & CTR different for GSN & GDN
google display network
google search network
all industries average
CTR 3.17%, 0.46%
CPC $2.69 0.63$
CPA $48.96 $75.51
CVR 3.75% 0.77%
CPA bids in Google ad network !
How to calculate Adsense earnings?
daily impressions
CTR
cpc
earnings
ex: 1000 impressions
CTR 2%
cpc 0.04
clicks=
Industry wise CTR & CPC
Average Cost Per Click (CPC)
Industry | Average CPC (Search) | Average CPC (GDN) |
---|---|---|
Advocacy | $1.43 | $0.62 |
Auto | $2.46 | $0.58 |
B2B | $3.33 | $0.79 |
Consumer Services | $6.40 | $0.81 |
Dating & Personals | $2.78 | $1.49 |
E-Commerce | $1.16 | $0.45 |
Education | $2.40 | $0.47 |
Employment Services | $2.04 | $0.78 |
Finance & Insurance | $3.44 | $0.86 |
Health & Medical | $2.62 | $0.63 |
Home Goods | $2.94 | $0.60 |
Industrial Services | $2.56 | $0.54 |
Legal | $6.75 | $0.72 |
Real Estate | $2.37 | $0.75 |
Technology | $3.80 | $0.51 |
Travel & Hospitality | $1.53 | $0.44 |
Dating & personal 0.52% & $1.49
finance & insurance 0.33% & 0.86$
https://www.wordstream.com/blog/ws/2016/02/29/google-adwords-industry-benchmarks